Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Hi, everybody...i'm a real newbie Post 11171 by PhilO_< on Thursday 29th of November 2001 09:36:22 PM
Old 11-29-2001
MySQL thx

thx for ur information....i'm getting started now...^_^

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Programming

i can't use 'make' in my computer?

I need to compile a file,but 'make' does not work.please tell me how to use it or need which tools? (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: dsun5
3 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

real newbie need to know...

hi everybody, so as you know i'm a real newbie in the unix world and i wanna know if i can install unix (not linux or other derived) on a toshiba T1950 portable computer ? It is a 486 cpu with 8mb ram, monochrom screen, and a 200mb hd, no cdrom... The latest version of unix is not necessary, a... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Uninewb
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

If this isn't newbie nothing is...how do I start GNOME?

First off, I know this isn't a LINUX board, but I figured it was close enough that no one would get upset. Anyway, I have Windows2000 and Linux running dual-boot. That works fine, but when I boot into Linux all I get is a command prompt. How do I start gnome or kde? I read the manual, but I... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: jimmy
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Clearify what it means under 'WHAT' when hit the 'w'-command

I wonder how I shall read the result below, especially 'what' shown below. The result was shown when I entered 'w'. E.g what is TOP? What is gosh ( what does selmgr mean?)? login@ idle JCPU PCPU what 6:15am 7:04 39 39 TOP 6:34am 6:45 45 45 TOP 6:41am ... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Aelgen
1 Replies

5. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

quoting echo 'it's friday'

echo 'it's friday' why appear the > (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: yls177
3 Replies

6. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

I'm a newbie (to UNIX)