Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers In Telnet I can't type anything in password! Post 10481 by LivinFree on Thursday 15th of November 2001 12:49:54 AM
Old 11-15-2001
Are you sure?
On MOST systems, it will not display what you type in the password area... This is to prevent "shoulder-surfers" from watching you type your password.

Try typing it blindly, then hit enter. What happens then?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Using telnet client from MacOSX's command line terminal

I'm completely new to Unix, but familiar with Mac OSX. I've just discovered the command line terminal feature of this new OS and I'm trying to learn how to telnet into my host's server to change permissions to allow executable cgi scripts for my website. Is there anyone who might be able to... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: tylerl
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

can't telnet

Hi, I am using aix 4.3.3. Getting kicked out when I try to access my unix server via telnet, (I can rlogin, ok). But, while trying to telnet, I keep getting this message: AIX Version 4 (C) Copyrights by IBM and by others 1982, 1996. login: o ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: kburrows
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Clearify what it means under 'WHAT' when hit the 'w'-command

I wonder how I shall read the result below, especially 'what' shown below. The result was shown when I entered 'w'. E.g what is TOP? What is gosh ( what does selmgr mean?)? login@ idle JCPU PCPU what 6:15am 7:04 39 39 TOP 6:34am 6:45 45 45 TOP 6:41am ... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Aelgen
1 Replies

4. IP Networking

waht's resume password for router