Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Opening output file while still in process Post 100801 by matrixmadhan on Thursday 2nd of March 2006 03:35:30 AM
Old 03-02-2006
the process that is dumping data to an output file will not be killed
untill the environment or the user is changing the permission bits of the file to which it is dumped, or file descriptor problem, invalidating file handler etc.

when we want to view the file where data is dumped the shell provides you with a different file handler without affecting the prime process that is dumping into the file. Hence there is no consistency problem as far as reading a file and taking a copy is concerned.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Read from file > process > output to file

Hi all, OK, I am totally new to shell scripting as I just started today. All I want from shell scripting is something very basic, and I've been searching for tutorials on "processing files" and I could not find a suitable one for my level. I want to read two columns from a data file, one raw... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Lorna
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Write process output to a file

When I run <ls -l> to get a list of all the files, I want the displayed result to be written to a text file. Is there a way to do that? (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: kn.naresh
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

top output for a specific process to a file

Hi, I have the following script, and it is driving me nuts. It just hangs, I've tried all kinds of tricks, but it won't work. I know it can, it is pretty straight forward. It hangs when it tries to output $X Any help appreciated! #!/bin/bash set -o xtrace command="top -b"... (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: Bloke
10 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

cron for windows, process is OK, but application is not opening