The UNIX and Linux Forums  

Go Back   The UNIX and Linux Forums > Top Forums > UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers
.
google unix.com



UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers If you're not sure where to post a UNIX or Linux question, post it here. All UNIX and Linux newbies welcome !!

More UNIX and Linux Forum Topics You Might Find Helpful
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sendmail relay only IF condition1 AND condition2 match one71 UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users 0 03-28-2008 05:39 AM
Sendmail relay problem soliberus SUN Solaris 4 03-06-2008 05:03 AM
Sendmail Config - Open Relay fosteria SUN Solaris 1 11-14-2006 11:07 AM
local mail relay problem in Sendmail RajaRC Linux 0 09-13-2004 04:53 AM
Sendmail Relay Solaris Security 4 06-28-2002 10:30 AM

Closed Thread
English Japanese Spanish French German Portuguese Italian Dutch Swedish Russian Norwegian Hungarian Hebrew Danish Bulgarian Greek Powered by Powered by Google
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11-04-2003
skotapal skotapal is offline
Registered User
  
 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 75
Sendmail open relay

All

I am having a bit of a problem with my sendmail smtp server. The environment:
Redhat Linux 8
sendmail-8.12.8-9.80.

The mailserver is used by our application to send mail notifications to users on the system. The application is hosted on 2 different servers (separate domains) which use the same smtp server to send mails.

The problem is, every now and then we get these messages (apparently spam sent from my user account)... my e-mail ID is used...and I saw the following entry in the maillog file:

Nov 4 14:02:33 MUSTANG sendmail[19338]: hA4J2Vht019338: from=<myself@mydomain.com>, size=1525, class=0, nrcpts=1, msgid=<08a201c3a306$a99a3cf5$b400a8c0@lab50313>, proto=ESMTP, daemon=Daemon0, relay=[209.186.12.86]

I got the IP address from the message header and grepped the maillog file.

Is it possible that someone is using my smtp server for spam? does the above message mean that the mail was sent put from my smtp server... seems so right?

I need to be able to stop this.

The following directives are set in the sendmail.cf file:

# Hosts for which relaying is permitted ($=R)
FR-o /etc/mail/relay-domains

The /et/mail/relay-domains contain 2 entries... of the two domains I trust.

The /etc/mail/access has the domain names of the above 2 domains (one is localdomain, and 1 more domain that I trust along with the IP address.).

Am i missing a configuration that will allow relaying from only the two trusted hosts?

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

KS
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11-05-2003
Optimus_P Optimus_P is offline Forum Advisor  
flim flam flamma jamma
  
 

Join Date: May 2001
Location: Chicago IL, USA
Posts: 1,006
This line tells you where the email came from.

msgid=<08a201c3a306$a99a3cf5$b400a8c0@lab50313>

is lab50313 in your relay-domain?

if so then you need to goto that host and look for your problem.

if it is not in your relay-domain then there has to be something wrong w/ the way you have your sendmail setup on the relaying server.
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11-05-2003
skotapal skotapal is offline
Registered User
  
 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 75
I have no clue about 'lab50313'. It is definitely not in my relay-domains. What could be wrong with the way that sendmail is setup. I am also researching this... any direction would be extremely helpful!

I did not understand what you meant by:
...something wrong with the way sendmail is setup on the relaying server.

Do you mean the sendmail server?

Thanks

KS

Last edited by skotapal; 11-05-2003 at 12:37 PM..
Closed Thread

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:00 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2006, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Language Translations Powered by .
vBCredits v1.4 Copyright ©2007 - 2008, PixelFX Studios
The UNIX and Linux Forums Content Copyright ©1993-2009. All Rights Reserved.Ad Management by RedTyger

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0