How much different?

Top Forums Programming How much different?
# 1  
Old 12-27-2003
How much different?

Well I have been a network admin over 4 years and am wanting to get more into programming, web development and database management. As such I have gone back to school for web development, during my classes I will take a part on C++ which I have been interested in learning. The question I basically have is how much deference is there between C and C++? Or would be learning one you can do the other or almost all of the other?

From what I have read so far C is more powerful but C++ is easier. If I have just been reading and not understanding well hey it wouldn't be the first time. The point is I'm coming up with some languages I would like to learn. So any help in this would be great thanks.

PS. If this topic is somewhere else I was unable to find it just make fun of me here and then post a link.
Smilie
# 2  
Old 12-27-2003
Re: How much different?

Quote:
Originally posted by Zivux
From what I have read so far C is more powerful but C++ is easier.
C++ encourages you to take on an object-oriented approach of programming, while with C you can only use the function-oriented (procedural) approach. New programmers generally prefer object-oriented approach. This enforces higher modularization and reusability of classes developed and is generally recommended; while sysadmins tend to prefer function-oriented approach as that is what sysadmins are used to doing in, for example, shell scripting.

C++ is a superset containing C. So learning C++ requires you to learn C as well, so you don't lose anything. Any C libraries can also be used from within C++ programs. I write C++ myself but I also use a lot of C libraries in my programs. For example, I am not really fond of the iostream classes in standard C++ library for I/O, and I use the C stdio functions instead; but in some other cases I may prefer an object-oriented library for some other purposes, say XML processing.