foormatting file

Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers foormatting file
# 1  
Old 03-27-2008
Power foormatting file

UNIX for dummies...I need this.

Hello. I'm fairly new to UNIX. My boss gave me an option of using UNIX so I took the challenge, but I'm having problems.
I am accessing a directory ./Public and all of its subdirectories.
i.e
Code:
ls -l -R|awk '{print $1, "", $3, "", $9}'

because I only want to look at those fields. I have the data I want printing to a file dirlist.txt.
The problem is once I have the file, I want to organize it to show what each owner has (permissions on what file)
How can I begin parsing this file to look something like:
rx rx rx John ./Tool.pdf
x rw w ./Library.doc
blah ./blah
I wish to do this for each owner....

Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks
# 2  
Old 03-27-2008
The "something like" is not exactly crystal clear.

The permissions in the first three fields are fairly clear, although I would suggest you keep the dashes which the author of ls(1) wisely put there for a reason.

The second line doesn't have an owner field, is that intentional? If so, when should the owner be left out?

Does "I wish to do this for each owner" mean you want the output sorted by owner or is it just a corollary of the fact that you have owner information for all files, and want this done for each file?

The format you are using is not preserving any information about directory structure. You would need to apply awk only later, or modify the ls options so that you get a full path name for each file. (Or maybe your ls is different from mine. For one thing, I only get 8 fields with these options.)

How's this instead?

Code:
find . -type f -print |
perl -lne '@s = stat $_; printf "%04o %s %s\n", $s[2] & 0777, (getpwuid($s[4]))[0], $_'

Last edited by era; 03-27-2008 at 06:11 PM.. Reason: Add -type f to find
# 3  
Old 03-27-2008