Looking for plotter MFP reviews - need new plotter for UNIX/Windows apps | Unix Linux Forums | Hardware

  Go Back    


Hardware Device drivers, hardware compatibility issues, motherboards, disk drives, graphics cards and other hardware related topics.

Looking for plotter MFP reviews - need new plotter for UNIX/Windows apps

Hardware


Closed Thread    
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
    #1  
Old 09-17-2013
markolinux markolinux is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Last Activity: 12 August 2014, 5:46 PM EDT
Location: N. Indiana
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Looking for plotter MFP reviews - need new plotter for UNIX/Windows apps

We currently have an HP DesignJet 750C+ plotter (for color plotting) and a Xerox 8825 (for B/W plotting and also scanning/copying) for our engineering drawings.

They are getting old and will need replacing soon (maintenance visits are on the increase, and parts for the Xerox are getting hard to find, acc. to our service rep.) I'd like to replace both units with a one-device-does-all unit, but maybe that's not the way to go? It jumps the price up considerably.

What are some of the places you all go for recent reviews of devices like this? Reviews by sysadmins and other end users would be best.

Whatever plotter we end up purchasing needs to have Unix support (Solaris 10 - SunOS 5.10), as well as XP, Windows 7, and possibly Windows 8. In general, what printer company has the best driver support in Solaris?

The DesignJet 750+C has been a great plotter - an example of the statement "They don't make 'em like that anymore".

Some of the reviews I have been able to find aren't very favorable toward any of the new plotters.

I don't need "e-print" or cloud printing capabilities - only basic plotting from CAD programs (both UNIX-based and Windows-based) and copying/scanning large-size prints. Occasionally someone prints color charts from Excel for manufacturing.

Any feedback is appreciated!
Sponsored Links
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

More UNIX and Linux Forum Topics You Might Find Helpful
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
add plotter to unix ssystem yasin UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers 0 06-10-2008 08:37 AM
Need help for Plotter configuration on hp-ux machine balarajum HP-UX 0 03-15-2007 02:30 AM
Network to plotter etyna Solaris 0 08-17-2006 03:13 AM
help connecting a plotter to HP-UX intern UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users 0 05-22-2006 03:56 PM
How to set plotter info. frigd UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers 0 09-07-2004 07:36 PM



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:58 AM.