Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers How to copy MBR from old harddrive to new harddrive? Post 97670 by shorty on Wednesday 1st of February 2006 11:37:38 AM
Old 02-01-2006
I tried dd if=/dev/hda of=/dev/hdb bs=512 count=2 and I it said it couldn't find /dev/hda. I looked in the /dev directory and there is no hda (or sda)?!?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Filesystems, Disks and Memory

Supplemental harddrive.

Am planning on adding a secodary SCSI hardrive to the existing 20gb drive., that I have. The old drive has Linux on it. Once, the new drive is added, I am planning on having windows on it. Firstly, could this be done ? Has anyone build a system with a similar configuration ? What is requried,... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: matvrix
1 Replies

2. Linux

Mount a harddrive in linux.

Hey people i'm very new to linux. I just put a extra 200 gig maxtor HD in my computer. Linux can tell it's there...but it says it cant mount it. How do i mount it manually? thanks, John (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: RKJV
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Copying a file to my harddrive

I'm loged on to a unix sever over the internet and i want to copy a file from there to my harddrive. How would i go about this because cp does not seem to work. (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: zoolz
1 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Adding an additional harddrive in solaris 9

Hello, I have a system which a new harddrive was installed for additional space. I now need to mount the drive and transfer data from /home to the new drive with a mount point named /home. How do I go about doing this? Thanks in advance. (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: GLJ@USC
5 Replies

5. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

booting from which harddrive

Hi, both of my /dev/hda and my /dev/hdb contain /boot partition. I'm wondering how to tell which harddrive's /boot is actually being read? Thanks (2 Replies)