Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Shell script for Creating Directory with name as system date Post 92006 by aarora_98 on Wednesday 7th of December 2005 06:30:42 AM
Old 12-07-2005
Re: Shell Scripting for creating dir with system date...

Hi,

I have tried using

Today='date +%m%d%Y'
set
mkdir $today

But its not working. I am working on telnet. Every time it is creating directory with name date +%m%d%Y .. Plz tell me what should i do.

Thanks
Aru

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

shell script to selectively tar directory based on date

hye everybody :) , i'm new to the scripting world.. hope you guys can help me out with this one.. i'm trying to identify any directory under /tmp/saya that is created more than one day from the current date.. e.g, today is March 14, so any directory that has time stamp March 13 backwards, i... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: fara_aris
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Creating date directory and moving files into that directory

I have list of files named file_username_051208_025233.log. Here 051208 is the date and 025233 is the time.I have to run thousands of files daily.I want to put all the files depending on the date of running into a date directory.Suppose if we run files today they should put into 05:Dec:08... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: ravi030
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to increment a user defined date value in the DATE format itself using shell script?

I need to increment a date value through shell script. Input value consist of start date and end date in DATE format of unix. For eg. I need increment a date value of 1/1/09 to 31/12/09 i.e for a whole yr. The output must look like 1/1/09 2/2/09 . . . 31/1/09 . . 1/2/09 . 28/2/09... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: sunil087
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Creating a directory if its non-existent within a script