Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: How to set echo on
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting How to set echo on Post 90068 by Ygor on Friday 18th of November 2005 12:56:03 AM
Old 11-18-2005
Try using set -x or search for xtrace in the bash man pages.

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

set variable to Home, then echo it to screen

Major Newbie here folks. I'm trying to set a variable to my Home directory and then echo it to the screen. Any and all help is greatly appreciated. Thanks Anna (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: amidget
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

echo just 1 line before execution/set +-x

Suppose that you want to mostly not echo commands inside your script during execution (e.g. to not bog the user down with details that they do not care about) but that there is the occaisional script line that you would like to echo before you execute it. Is there an elegant way to achieve this?... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: fabulous2
3 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How to correctly use an echo inside an echo?

Bit of a weird one i suppose, i want to use an echo inside an echo... For example... i have a script that i want to use to take users input and create another script. Inside this script it creates it also needs to use echos... echo "echo "hello"" >$file echo "echo "goodbye"" >$file ... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: mokachoka
3 Replies

4. Linux

set echo off command issue

Hi all, I am executing a Oracle SQL statement in a shell script and spooling the output of the query into a File with spool command. I want to ensure that only output of the query appears in file excluding the SQL statement but even set echo off command is not working. Please help (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: sumi_mn
7 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

why the set rr='echo string|cut not working