Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: pass the password to SU??
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers pass the password to SU?? Post 87769 by bikoyski on Thursday 27th of October 2005 12:51:58 PM
Old 10-27-2005
i'm logged in as 'a'.

but there are commands in the script that does a 'sed', 'rm', 'mv' , but 'a' is not the owner of the files. so i need to 'su' to the owner before i can do anything to the files.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

SFTP - Pass password auti

ftp -i -n <<HERE open $IPADD user $USRNAME $PASS cd / get $FNAME close quit HERE Hi all the above script i used for ftp. How to modify same for sftp? thanks in advance (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: bullz26
10 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

pass a password to an application

Hi folks I am new to shellscripting and I try to automate & guify some jobs. Suppose I have a variable the stores a passwd and an application like "gpg" or "zip" to run from withn the script. how do I pass that passwd (the content of the variable) to the application being called? eg. ... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: latenite
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Not able to pass Username and Password in telnet session

I have created a shell script to telnet remote machine. Here is the problem I am not able to pass the login username and password to the telnet session. I have searched forum and got few other methods to achieve this. But I need to know what's wrong in the below script. username="root"... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: uxpassion
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Pass root password through script

I have several clients (over 120) connected to my server. I want to push some patch to all the client using a script which copies the file from the server to a specific path on the client and then installs it. But for installation of the patch, it needs to be done thorough root login on client.... (7 Replies)