Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: two commands on 1 line
Top Forums UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users two commands on 1 line Post 43676 by el_soldado on Thursday 20th of November 2003 08:06:29 PM
Old 11-20-2003
two commands on 1 line

wuts the command that allows u to use 2 commands on one line?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Commands and Command Line Flags

Hello I'm very new to unix, am learning it as part of my new job. I have a book which has a list in the back, of a number of commands and their command line flags, detailing what these flags are used for. I've been looking everywhere for an electronic copy of this type of list, so I can... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Kedgeboy
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Seperate commands on the same line

hello, is there a way to seperate commands that are on the same line? ie: echo "yes count(*)>0:" $passvar > dsp cat dsp cat dsp > log i'm trying to put these 3 commands on the same line, but when i do they all get concatenated into 1 lieteral if i put the cat commands on... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: bobk544
3 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How to get nth line from a file usuing commands

Hi to all, I have a file with 1000 lines,Now i need to get 789th record.So please any one help me out from this. Thanks in advance. Sathish (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: bsathishmca
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Unix commands in one line

Hi I want to write the following code in 1 line: a=1 if then echo ok else echo not ok fi The following does not work: a=1 ; if \r then \r echo ok \r else \r echo not ok \r fi or Even if I replace \r by \n it does not work. Please suggest. (11 Replies)
Discussion started by: miltonkeynesguy
11 Replies

5. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Running two commands in one line

hi! how do i run 2 command from the same line e.g: 'which screen' and then ls -la 'which screen' (4 Replies)