Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Perl to update field in file based of match to another file Post 303000280 by durden_tyler on Friday 7th of July 2017 10:41:46 PM
Old 07-07-2017
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmccabe
if the last field is blank then a .(dot) results.
For line # 2 of "file2.txt", this:

Code:
$F[$F[6]=~/exonic/?11:8]

returns $F[8] which is "."

However, this:

Code:
grep {$x=~/$_/} keys %m

does not return anything because none of the keys of hash %m (shown below)

Code:
'NM_005101'
'NM_000310'
'NM_022089'

exist in the string "."

Therefore the variable $r is an empty string.
And hence, this:

Code:
print join("\t",@F,$r);

does not append anything to the array @F for line # 2 of "file2.txt".
This User Gave Thanks to durden_tyler For This Post:

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Update a field in a file based on condition

Hi i am new to scripting. i have a file file.dat with content as : CONTENT_STORAGE PERCENTAGE FLAG: /storage_01 64% 0 /storage_02 17% 1 I need to update the value of FLAG for a particular CONTENT_STORAGE value I have written the following code #!/bin/sh threshold=20... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: kichu
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Match columns from two csv files and update field in one of the csv file

Hi, I have a file of csv data, which looks like this: file1: 1AA,LGV_PONCEY_LES_ATHEE,1,\N,1,00020460E1,0,\N,\N,\N,\N,2,00.22335321,0.00466628 2BB,LES_POUGES_ASF,\N,200,200,00006298G1,0,\N,\N,\N,\N,1,00.30887539,0.00050312... (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: djoseph
10 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk to update field file based on match