Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting awk to combine lines if fields match in lines Post 302997610 by cmccabe on Wednesday 17th of May 2017 09:05:47 AM
Old 05-17-2017
Thank you very much that helps a lot Smilie.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

SImple HELP! how to combine two lines together using sed or awk..

hi..im new to UNIX... ok i have this information in the normal shell... there are 2 lines display like this: h@hotmail.com k@hotmail.com i want it to display like this with a space betweem them h@hotmail.com k@hotmail.com the information is stored in a text file.... anyone... (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: forevercalz
10 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

search and combine lines in awk

Hi All, I have 1 "keyword" file like this: 00-1F-FB-00-04-18 00-19-CB-8E-66-DF 00-1F-FB-00-48-9C 00-1F-FB-00-AA-4F .... and the 2nd "details" file like this: Wed Feb 11 00:00:02 2009 NAS-IP-Address = xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx Class = "P1-SHT-AAA01;1233704662;4886720" ... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: xajax7
6 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

awk display the match and 2 lines after the match is found.

Hello, can someone help me how to find a word and 2 lines after it and then send the output to another file. For example, here is myfile1.txt. I want to search for "Error" and 2 lines below it and send it to myfile2.txt I tried with grep -A but it's not supported on my system. I tried with awk,... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: eurouno
4 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Print only lines where fields concatenated match strings

Hello everyone, Maybe somebody could help me with an awk script. I have this input (field separator is comma ","): 547894982,M|N|J,U|Q|P,98,101,0,1,1 234900027,M|N|J,U|Q|P,98,101,0,1,1 234900023,M|N|J,U|Q|P,98,54,3,1,1 234900028,M|H|J,S|Q|P,98,101,0,1,1 234900030,M|N|J,U|F|P,98,101,0,1,1... (2 Replies)