Sponsored Content
Operating Systems OS X (Apple) Help in explaining this echo conundrum. Post 302993799 by Corona688 on Tuesday 14th of March 2017 01:46:56 PM
Old 03-14-2017
'echo' is not consistent or portable between different shells. Sometimes you get newlines, sometimes you get \n, sometimes you only get newlines when you ask for them with echo -e, and sometimes you can't get newlines out no matter what you do (i.e. /bin/sh on solaris). Given OSX's nextstep/mach lineage, I'll wild-guess that their /bin/sh is meant to resemble an old Bourne from BSD.

printf is a lot more consistent.
This User Gave Thanks to Corona688 For This Post:

8 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

explaining awk

i am new to awk scripting. i couldn't figure out how this awk script works can anyone explain? #!/bin/awk -f { for( x=1; x<=NF; ++x) { if( x == 3 ) { continue } print x, $x } } thank you and regards (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: phone_book
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Need help explaining how to use a VPN on a UNIX server with a Mac OS

I have gotten a gig to teach someone how to use a VPN client for a UNIX server on a MAC os. The problem is I have never used UNIX, dont mess with VPN's (my dad has a VPN that I have used a couple of times). I'm currently taking a crash course on UNIX but I was wondering if anyone could help me with... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: psycopuppy
0 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Explaining some lines from files : .login and .cshrc

Hello, can anyone explain me please what do those lines do ? From file .login 1) set history=40 2) setenv MACH `uname -s` 3) source /etc/login 4) source ~/$MACH/.login From file .cshrc 1) if ( ! $?prompt) exit 0 (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: bbqtoss
5 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

umask conundrum