Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Beginners Questions & Answers Can not determine end-of-file error Post 302992171 by Corona688 on Wednesday 22nd of February 2017 09:50:54 AM
Old 02-22-2017
Quote:
Originally Posted by V1l1h1
yes I'm using "/bin/sh "

it won't let me use stat .. it prompts "not found..
also, I could not use switch with stat and also -r switch with date
the closet I can try was that
Code:
mv "${file_name}" "${file_name}"_`date +'%m%d%Y'`

at least this time renamed the file with date stamp..

Appreciate all your help. It is helping me learn shell scripting
You could try my general purpose date script written in perl which supports many GNU date like options.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

End of file unexpected error

Hi, I am new to unix. I have written a script whenever i am giving sh filename.sh its prompting unexpected end of file in line number 40 in that line i have echo statement what do i need to do thanks in advance (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: hamsa
5 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

unexpected end of file error

hi, i am trying to connect to sqlplus in an 'if block' from the script. it is giving unexpected end of file error. and it works fine if it is out of 'if block'. if anybody have idea on this, can you please help me to solve the error ? piece of code is given below. if then... (11 Replies)
Discussion started by: vinayakatj56
11 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

unexpected end of file error

When I run the following script: #! /bin/bash for var in CA CC CD CT EC PC do cat << EOF > ${var}_full.dat echo T ${var}_high echo C age echo C sex echo C ht echo C WT_lg EOF cat << EOF > ${var}_agesex.dat ... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: polly_falconer
4 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

syntax error: unexpected end of file