Sponsored Content
Homework and Emergencies Emergency UNIX and Linux Support AIX prompt delayed when users increase Post 302991298 by MadeInGermany on Wednesday 8th of February 2017 05:39:37 PM
Old 02-08-2017
A debugging tip. You can trace the sshd.
Code:
# proctree | grep -w sshd
   258180   /usr/sbin/sshd a
      274564   sshd: root@pts/0 a

Then trace the originator/listener i.e. pid 258180
Code:
# truss -f -p 258180

And then do a login. You'll see what it does, and where it takes a long time.
These 2 Users Gave Thanks to MadeInGermany For This Post:

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. AIX

how do I increase the storage space I am new to AIX

Host Name - xxxxxxx IP Address - xxxxxxxxx Alert Msg - The percentage of available storage space (DMXMemory) is low (49.54374442289481 percent). Time received - 14:23 Time Logged - 14:55 Suggested Group - MR-UNIX (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: Nyiko
5 Replies

2. AIX

Custom AIX Prompt

In my .profile, my prompt is set like this: set -o vi PS1=`logname`@`hostname -s`:'$PWD>' Is there a way to show what the history number would be of the command I'm typing in the prompt? For example, I frequently run commands then run 'history' to pull up the history number of a command... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: ptrotter
2 Replies

3. AIX

Timestamp in AIX Prompt

I am using ksh under IBM's AIX, version 6.1. I wopuld like to add the current time to my prompt. I understand that I can change the value of $PS1 in my .profile. So far my attempts at setting the time have resulted in setting the time to what it was when the .profile was executed. ( It doesn't... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: PeterF
2 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

scp not working because of prompt (AIX, tcsh)