Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: OpenSSL
Special Forums Cybersecurity OpenSSL Post 302955621 by Ultrix on Saturday 19th of September 2015 03:10:15 PM
Old 09-19-2015
OpenSSL

I just started playing around with Unix's OpenSSL utility. I can't seem to get the hang of it, and the man page isn't helping much. I wanted to experiment with file encryption, so I created a dummy text file with one line of text and tried to encrypt it using DES. I used the following command:

Code:
openssl des -in Encrypt.txt -out Encrypted.txt

As expected, this produced an encrypted file whose contents were illegible. Then I tried to decrypt the file. I figured since most of these encryption algorithms are based on XORing the key with the message, I would be able to apply the same command to get the original plaintext. So I used a variation of the same command.

Code:
openssl des -in Encrypted.txt -out Decrypted.txt

I opened the file Decrypted.txt and found that it was still illegible. I hadn't gotten the original plaintext back. "Okay," I thought, "I guess I don't know much about how to use DES, since it's a block cypher. Maybe I'll try a stream cypher, since I'm more familiar with how they work, and I know for a fact that for a stream cypher, encryption and decryption use the same algorithm."

I used the following commands:

Code:
openssl rc4 -in Encrypt.txt -out Encrypted.txt
openssl rc4 -in Encrypted.txt -out Decrypted.txt

Still doesn't work.