Sponsored Content
Special Forums Cybersecurity 'Shell Shock' vulnerability in Bourne shell Post 302918936 by vbe on Friday 26th of September 2014 09:24:38 AM
Old 09-26-2014
Not Bourne shell, in Bourne Again... bash
e.g. what Deian says about it:
https://security-tracker.debian.org/.../CVE-2014-6271

Only you are at risk in somehow limited situation I believe:
e.g. Using ssh with ForceCommand option or using SSH_ORIGINAL_COMMAND variable

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Bourne Shell and Arrays

Hi everyone, first post here so please be gentle :-) I normally likle to script in Bourne Shell simply for guarenteed compatibility across any system I might run across but this latest problem has me stumped. Arrays is a rather significant construct missing from sh and after finding a way to... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Unbeliever
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Bourne-again shell

Hi guys !! well i'm still new in learning UNIX , and actually i'm still studying it by myself .. anyway, some people told me the Bourne-again shell is a good version of UNIX to work on , and i tried to download yesterday but i didn't know how to start it ...... the ReadMe file associated with... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: mrsamer
3 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

bourne shell or korn shell?

Hi, I have a script that uses "nohup" command to execute a korn shell script. Which one is the correct shell to use bourne shell or korn shell to execute a korn shell? and why? Thanks in advanced. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: XZOR
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

C shell & Bourne Shell

Hi Guys, My first post and simple one at that .. Really rusty with this shell scripting..\ I have a script called .. j.sh I am calling > j.sh LOG_PATH $BLMBRGDATA/blmbrg.properties where j.sh is grep $1 $2 | cut -d',' -f2 . $BLMBRGDATA is set to a directory path. why do i get :- $... (3 Replies)