Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Linux Fedora Which flavor of UNIX or Linux to learn? Post 302883789 by Petros_K on Thursday 16th of January 2014 04:43:29 AM
Old 01-16-2014
Which flavor of UNIX or Linux to learn?

Hi all,

Noob here. I have been dabbling with Linux for years, basically installing different types of distros and becoming familiar with the default gui that came along with it.

At this point, I find myself wanting to learn alot more. It would be great if that knowledge helped me move forward in my IT career. I work currently as a lowly data center operator monitoring crucial systems. I want to administer them! I want to be a Unix guru.

So which flavor is really worth learning? Which is the most widely used in production systems? Solaris, Fedora, Suse ?
Where does one begin ?

Thanks in advance for the help.

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Need a flavor of Unix

Hello all! I'm the new guy in these parts. I'm a part time college student/part time Java Intern. I've seen that during my days at work having a basic knowledge and understanding for Unix is a great benefit for us developers. I've got a dual boot on my main workstation at home of Win2K Pro and... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: AMDPwred
3 Replies

2. Linux

How and where to learn Linux?

I'd like to pass some exames to get certificates for Linux. Can someone advice me how to do it "on distance" and self studie? thanks! d. (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: diamond
4 Replies

3. UNIX and Linux Applications

Linux flavor of tversity

I have been using UShare, but would like to get something that is more in line with tversity's functionality. Has anyone any suggestions? (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: sport9155
0 Replies

4. Fedora

Is it better to learn Linux before unix?