Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Linux Fedora Newby: How to actually update software?! Post 302866113 by bakunin on Monday 21st of October 2013 10:20:30 AM
Old 10-21-2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by sas
Bakuian - Yes this is very helpful! I've 3 Debian--wheezy-based Linux machines, would something like this work?

Debian Synaptic
Yes. Synaptics is a graphical frontend for the package manager (apt). Instead of typing "apt-get search <packagename>" or something such, you can list all the available packages, filter for a certain one (or some), download and install them, satisfying any dependencies automatically in the process.

Deinstall what you "untarred somewhere" and search for apt-packages for Hadoop.

I hope this helps.

bakunin

3 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help for a newby

I am new to using nawk. When I put the following line in script file test1.awk I get the results: { print NR, length($0),NF} >nawk -f test1.awk head.txt 1 63 5 2 2622 188 3 2166 155 4 3192 228 5 2679 192 ..... but if I modify the test1.awk file to look like this: BEGIN {FS = ","}... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: placroix1
2 Replies

2. OS X (Apple)

Software Update reporting script

I need a script that gets the output of softwareupdate -al on each machine (the list of available updates) and reports how many updates are needed in total by all the machines on the network, and the results to 4 different recipients. i.e. total patches required = 12 hostname1 =4 patch(es)... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: glev2005
1 Replies

3. SuSE

update package/software questions

Hi, In SUSE linux, it looks like that I can update the package using YAST or install the package from source. So, which way works better? Also, if i install the package of new version. Do i need to remove/delete the old version package, or I just need to change my environments and keep the old... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: jianma
0 Replies