Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Provide 2 inputs when prompts Post 302863779 by prasanna2166 on Tuesday 15th of October 2013 06:02:17 AM
Old 10-15-2013
Provide 2 inputs when prompts

Hi All,

I am a novice to UNIX, i need to know is there a way to provide 2 inputs when the shell prompts and i need to assign those 2 values to 2 separate variables. I dont want to give those values as a arguments (while running the script).

Thanks in advance!!

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

rsh help with remote prompts

Hi, I'm writing a shell script that rsh's onto a remote machine and runs a perl script that requires values to be entered as the script executes. I also need to ba able to see the outputs from the perl script. When I try to run it I get an stty : Invalid argument and understand that this is... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: ianf
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

scripting password prompts

Hi there Probably a really simple question but I am writing an install script and at certain stages of the install (ie creating a table in mysql) the system prompts for you to enter a password, I was wondering, how do I script this input so that the install doesnt keep stopping for manual... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: hcclnoodles
3 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

password prompts

I would like to log all the commands that are entered on an ssh client. I can do this successfully, however, I dont want to log user logins and passwords. Is there any way to identify passwords and avoid them? For example, I can look for a string 'password:' and ignore everything until a nl/cr. Is... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: balag
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

working in different prompts

hi i want a script which would invoke a different prompt and execute commands in that prompt and comes back. Is it possible? (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: gopsman