Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Mmap source
Operating Systems BSD Mmap source Post 302858477 by dcicc on Monday 30th of September 2013 01:43:25 PM
Old 09-30-2013
Mmap source

I'm new to kernels and C, and I am tinkering around trying to understand OpenBSD's secure memory management. I'm stumped on a couple points.

I've read up on malloc() which was apparently modified years ago to allocate memory using mmap. First question, that would be this here, right?

Code:
map_pages(size_t pages)
{
struct pdinfo *pi, *spi;
struct pginfo **pd;
u_long pidx,lidx;
void *result, *tail;
u_long index;

pages <<=malloc_pageshift;
result = MMAP(pages + malloc_guard);

For the life of me, I can't track down source code for mmap(). I know that this is a kernel system call, but where is that source? In particular, I'm interested to see how mmap() now returns a randomized location in memory.

Last edited by Scott; 09-30-2013 at 05:26 PM.. Reason: Code tags

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Filesystems, Disks and Memory

mmap

Hello. I'm writing some random access i/o software on Solaris 8 using mmap64 to memory map large files (my test file is ~25 GB). The abbreviated code fragment is: fd = open(cbuf,O_RDONLY|O_LARGEFILE); struct stat statbuf; fstat(fd,&statbuf); off_t len =... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: gusm
0 Replies

2. HP-UX

mmap failed

We recently have been seeing the following type of error on our development server. Being somewhat new to HP-UX I was hoping to get some insight. Here is what I have found. I have been doing some research. /usr/lib/dld.sl: Call to mmap() failed - TEXT /u07/mdev/lib/libCLEND.sl... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: scotbuff
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

mmap and select