Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Passing variable as an argument to another script Post 302853007 by ahamed101 on Friday 13th of September 2013 03:47:52 AM
Old 09-13-2013
Try
Code:
a=" -b \"FPT MAIN\" "; echo $a ;set -x ; ./test.sh "$a"; set +x

--ahamed

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Passing argument to awk script

I am writing a shell script. Now i need to read in a string and send it to an awk file to compare and search for compatible record. I wrote it like tat: read serial | awk -f generate.awk data.dat p/s: the data file got 6 field. According to an expert, we can write it like tat: read... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: AkumaTay
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Passing the command line argument in a variable

Hi, I am new to unix. Is their a way to pass the output of the line below to a variable var1. ls -1t | head -1. I am trying something like var1=ls -1t | head -1, but I get error. Situation is: I get file everyday through FTP in my unix box. I have to write a script that picks up first... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: rkumar28
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Passing argument from one script to other

Dear All, I have one script which accepts database name and user_id from the user, i have another script that will unload the data from all the tables based on the user_id accepted by the user. How can i pass the user_id from the 1st script to the other. My OS is sun solaris. Thanks in... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: lloydnwo
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need to run the script by argument passing

Hi All, I have a question regarding running this script by passing an argument, for example ./ShellParse.sh sun, how do i do that? So i want when i pass argument sun, it shouild execute things inside the for loop. I want to support some other platforms too, so there are more for loops to... (3 Replies)