Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Getting a file name from input file Post 302844380 by krishmaths on Monday 19th of August 2013 05:57:24 AM
Old 08-19-2013
Replace name= "$fullname" | cut -f1 -d"." with

Code:
name=$(echo "$fullname" | cut -f1 -d".")

---------- Post updated at 03:27 PM ---------- Previous update was at 03:24 PM ----------

Code:
echo "malo901_cp-link_0807_020.csv" | cut -d"_" -f 2

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Reading specific contents from 1 input files and appending it to another input file

Hi guys, I am new to AWK and unix scripting. Please see below my problem and let me know if anyone you can help. I have 2 input files (example given below) Input file 2 is a standard file (it will not change) and we have to get the name (second column after comma) from it and append it... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: sksahu
5 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need script to take input from file, match on it in file 2 and input data

All, I am trying to figure out a script to run in windows that will allow me to match on First column in file1 to 8th Column in File2 then Insert file1 column2 to file2 column4 then create a new file. File1: 12345 Sam 12346 Bob 12347 Bill File2:... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: darkoth
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Script to delete files with an input for directories and an input for path/file

Hello, I'm trying to figure out how best to approach this script, and I have very little experience, so I could use all the help I can get. :wall: I regularly need to delete files from many directories. A file with the same name may exist any number of times in different subdirectories.... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: *ShadowCat*
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Read input files and merge them in given order and write them to input one param or one file