Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: awk or sed help
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting awk or sed help Post 302844278 by Indra2011 on Sunday 18th of August 2013 05:53:01 AM
Old 08-18-2013
Thanks to both RudiC and Jotne for helping out!!!
Have a great day1!

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk / sed

I have many messages such as the test message below: 00:00000:00021:2002/05/13 13:57:00.51 ERROR:- Test error, my test error!!! I am writing a script in which I need to get everything from the word "ERROR:-" onwards. I normally use awk for these things, but I am not an expert at it so i am... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: baileyr1
6 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

sed,awk

Hi, I know sed is stream text editor and not a bit more than that. Can anyone explain its usage and advantages? How is awk different from sed? I donno i am a bit confused about it. But i have coded in awk and shell. Thanks, Nisha :confused: (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: Nisha
7 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

sed in awk ? or nested awk ?

Hey all, Can I put sed command inside the awk action ?? If not then can i do grep in the awk action ?? For ex: awk '$1=="174" { ppid=($2) ; sed -n '/$ppid/p' tempfind.txt ; }' tempfind.txt Assume: 174 is string. Assume: tempfind.txt is used for awk and sed both. tempfind.txt... (11 Replies)
Discussion started by: varungupta
11 Replies

4. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Awk or Sed help

Hi, I have a data file with 5 columns - like this: "20080401 09:43:08.770798 +0100s","TEST 1","R 1","A TEST","Nov 27 2007","1" "20080401 09:43:08.770798 +0100s","THIS IS A TEST","R 2","B TEST","Nov 30 2007","10" "20080401 09:43:08.770798 +0100s","ANOTHER TEST","R 3","B TEST","Nov 05... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: MrG-San
7 Replies

5. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

sed or awk?