Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Solaris Limit FTP user's access to a specific directory Post 302844162 by general_lee on Friday 16th of August 2013 05:40:03 PM
Old 08-16-2013
Just install proftp from opencsw. If you've not used opencsw before, try it.

With proftp you can then easily limit access for users to specific directories. I guess you know this! Opencsw means you won't need to compile it (think yum, apt for Solaris).

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

failed to access directory thru ftp

Hi all, I am a beginner to unix and ftp too.So i request your valuable comments. Requirement: I want to put a specific file into a server(linux) and under a particular directory path in that server as /caps/details/data/ Problem : I login to that server through the command `ftp... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: DILEEP410
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Restrict FTP access to a single directory for only one user.

Hi All, It will be very great if you can help me in this issue. Thanks in advance. I need to enable FTP on a solaris9 server. I need to create a new user some "xxxxxx" and he can only FTP the files to and from between /tftpboot directory and network devices. Other users should not... (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: santhoshkumar_d
8 Replies

3. Solaris

when FTP user will go to specific directory

Hi experts, I have a user "bingo" in my sunsolaris 9. # /etc/passwd bingo:x:513:1::/export/home/bingo:/bin/bash when anyone Telnet to this user it goes to his home directory /export/home/bingo But now i want- when someone FTP to this user "bingo" it will NOT go to his home dir. Rather it... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: thepurple
5 Replies

4. Solaris

create user with RWX access to a specific directory in Solaris 10

I need to create a user account for a developer that will allow him rwx access to all resources in a directory. How can I do that? Thanks (5 Replies)