Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Passing a parameter from a shell script to sqlplus Post 302843779 by Mahomed on Thursday 15th of August 2013 03:23:56 AM
Old 08-15-2013
Oracle Passing a parameter from a shell script to sqlplus

Hi All,

I'm new to Linux and scripting, apologies in advance for 'stupid' questions.

Please help... Im writing a script that calls a sqlplus script but the sqlplus requires inputs and i cant seem to get this to work.

here is my code.

Code:
#!/bin/sh
TERM=vt100
export TERM
WORKDIR=/mnt/sr_scripts/PER
export WORKDIR
cd $WORKDIR

DEV="dev" #this is dev environment.
TEST="test" #this is TEST environment.

echo "Enter Environment"
read mENV
echo "Enter a valid PERSON_ID for the employee:"
read PID
echo "Display Payroll Element Entries (Y|N):"
read PEE

if [ "$mENV" == "$DEV" ]; then
 sqlplus -silent apps/apps @PER12.sql
 expect "Enter a valid PERSON_ID for the employee:"
 send "$PID"
 expect "Display Payroll Element Entries (Y|N):"
 send "$PEE"
elif [ "$mENV" == "$TEST" ]; then
 sqlplus -silent apps/apps123 @PER12.sql
 expect "Enter a valid PERSON_ID for the employee:"
 send "$PID"
 expect "Display Payroll Element Entries (Y|N):"
 send "$PEE"
fi

Please note that the first step of the script executes, im able to kick off the sql script but the sql script dont accept the parameters ie: PID and PEE... It just prompts for it again.

Thanking you in advance.

Regards
Mahomed

Last edited by Scrutinizer; 08-15-2013 at 04:27 AM.. Reason: code tags

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

passing parameters from a shell script to sqlplus

Hi , I want to pass parameters from a shell script to a sql script and use the parameter in the sql query ..and then I want to spool a particular select query on to my unix box... for 4 different locations by writing only one sql script Right now no file is generated on the unix box...it is a... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: phani
2 Replies