Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Solaris How to set gateway address to a particular interface? Post 302834559 by hicksd8 on Friday 19th of July 2013 08:51:39 AM
Old 07-19-2013
What do you mean by "a particular interface"? Do you have multiple interfaces?

The easy answer is to edit or create the file /etc/defaultrouter and insert the address of the default router (gateway). This file is ascii and editable and should contain just an ip address of the router and nothing else (first line of file, left justified). This change would be permanent.

For example:

Code:

Does that help (or did you already know that)?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

IP address and gateway info

How can I change the IP address and gateway info on a unix server? (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: gguzman
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Modifying IP Address/Gateway/Subnet in SCO Unix

Hi, I'm new to unix and have absolutely no experience with it. I am trying to change the network setting on the only computer on our network with SCO Unix. We switched ISP's and now have a new set of IP's. I can't for the life of me figure out how to go in and change these settings, please help.... (12 Replies)
Discussion started by: PBNOSGT
12 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

gateway address

How can I change the gateway address on my sco Openserver 5.0.6. A cisco firewall is recently installed but the gateway on the system is still pointing at the old one. I want it to use the gateway address of the router. Please help. Thanks (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: sshokunbi
2 Replies

4. Programming

how we can get gateway address

how we can get the gateway address. i know gethostname used for ipaddress how we can get the system gateway address. thank u inadvance, sree (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: phani_sree
2 Replies

5. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers