Sponsored Content
The Lounge What is on Your Mind? Learning System Administration: What to focus on? Post 302833817 by ScottLew on Thursday 18th of July 2013 12:58:49 AM
Old 07-18-2013
Learning System Administration: What to focus on?

In the fall I am taking courses in System Admin and Networking Admin, along with Cisco classes. Sometime next year I hope to get Red Hat and CCNA certifications, then try to get some experience and a job.

I am wondering what I can focus on in the meantime (and in my spare time) that will contribute to my knowledge of systems administration.

I have some experience with C++, PHP and MySql programming but they're not really related to SysAdmin.

I was thinking learning Perl would be more helpful. Or if I could do some type of project. I'd appreciate any other ideas though. I would like to focus on something that I can put to use and/or gain experience in SysAdmin.

Any ideas would be appreciated.

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

System Administration

I have been working with UNIX (HP-UX) now for a couple of years. Have become quite capable in shell scripting and general UNIX use. The local university offers a certification course in UNIX administration which I am considering taking. However, the certification is geared toward UNIX in general... (13 Replies)
Discussion started by: google
13 Replies

2. AIX

AU14 AIX 5L System Administration I: Implementation

hello everybody I'm studying this book called AU13 AIX 5L Basics, but i almost finish and I need to have the next one whose name is 1. AU14 AIX 5L System Administration I: Implementation I know these are several books, if someone had it en PDF, please let me know how I could get it. ... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: karlochacon
0 Replies

3. Solaris

System Administration Certification