Sponsored Content
Homework and Emergencies Homework & Coursework Questions Archive and purge the log file Post 302821385 by johney1981 on Friday 14th of June 2013 12:57:51 PM
Old 06-14-2013
Archive and purge the log file

Hi Unix Experts,

I am new in this filed.

I have assignment to Archive and purge the log file using shell scripts I tried I could not get the result please help me this.

Ex: test.log
requirement : using shell script I need to archive the log file and nil and the content of (test.log) file to 0 kb

and then in the archive folder log files are name to test.tar
test1.tar
test2.tar

EX:

/home/abc/
test.log 20000MB
after nil (content of file 0kb)

test.log 0kb

archive log file moved to

/home/abc/archive/

test.tar
test1.tar
test2.tar

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Read from file then purge or archive.

Hi All, I have a root directory /tmp and I want to purge files or archive files in its subsequent subfolders.I listed the path of files I want to purge(archive) and the #of days. (purge) DAYS PATH 7 /tmp/arsenal/* 5 /tmp/chelsea/* (archive? the same as above but different folders... (15 Replies)
Discussion started by: kayarsenal
15 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Purge files based on timestamp avl in file name

Dear All, I have the followoing requirement.. REQ-1: Suppose I have the following files XX_20070202000101.zip XX_20080223000101.zip XX_20080226000101.zip XX_20080227000101.zip XX_20080228000101.zip XX_20080229000101.zip Suppose sysdate = 29 Feb 2007 I need to delete all files... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: sureshg_sampat
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

shell script for archive purge