Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users Expert opinion on iptables/torrents Post 302798971 by darkman_hr on Thursday 25th of April 2013 01:16:30 PM
Old 04-25-2013
At level7 perhaps?
If I block via l7 all non-standard ports >1024 (ie. allow only 80, 53, 22 etc..) I read somewhere that l7 will not stop encrypted torrents... is that true? I'm guessing it makes sense since it cannot really peek into them to match pattern?

I use iptables daily.. know lot of tricks.. but this packet inspection is really fuss.

I'll make another thread now about paypal/iptables which is also giving me headache.. perhaps someone knows...

I really like that there are people here that I might actually talk to about networking and linux and stuff.. sometimes I feel like I'm alone.. not even google can give me answers I seek.

Smilie

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX Desktop Questions & Answers

Need your help and opinion

Hey all, I'm brand new to Unix/Linux and have a couple of questions. I own a small education/consulting company that has a staff of approx. 50 employees. Most our work is geared towards the office-style environment (i.e. Word, Excel, Powerpoint, etc.). There are also some C and Java programmers... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: dennie1
4 Replies

2. Solaris

Your Opinion requested

Ladies/Gentlemen, I am looking for a web-based tool to keep track of my Sun inventory. The following list of fields are fields I would like to store: Root Passwd (needs to be secure) / Hostid / Console Port / IP Address / Platform / Application / Hostname . . . you get the point. Do any of... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: pc9456
4 Replies

3. Post Here to Contact Site Administrators and Moderators

Opinion