Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Linux Red Hat iptables Rules for my network Post 302786059 by Vaibhav.T on Tuesday 26th of March 2013 06:54:59 PM
Old 03-26-2013
RedHat iptables Rules for my network

Hi Champs

i am new in Iptables and trying to write rules for my Samba server.I took some help from internet, created one script and run from rc.local :

#Allow loopback

iptables -I INPUT -i lo -j ACCEPT

# Accept packets from Trusted network

iptables -A INPUT -s my-network/subnet -j ACCEPT

# to allow established session to received traffic

iptables -A INPUT -m conntrack --ctstate ESTABLISHED,RELATED -j ACCEPT

# to allow SSH on port 22 from my network

iptables -A INPUT -i eth0 -p tcp -s my-network/subnet --dport 22 -m state --state NEW,ESTABLISHED -j ACCEPT
iptables -A OUTPUT -o eth0 -p tcp --sport 22 -m state --state ESTABLISHED -j ACCEPT

# To Allow incoming traffice on default SAMBA PORTS

iptables -A INPUT -p udp --dport 137 -j ACCEPT
iptables -A INPUT -p udp --dport 138 -j ACCEPT
iptables -A INPUT -p udp --dport 139 -j ACCEPT
iptables -A INPUT -p tcp --dport 139 -j ACCEPT
iptables -A INPUT -p tcp --dport 445 -j ACCEPT

#Enable Logging

iptables -A INPUT -j LOG
iptables -A INPUT -m limit --limit 2/min -j LOG --log-prefix "Iptables packet Drop" --log-level 7

# Drop all other Packets

iptables -A INPUT -j DROP

I also created one separate log file for iptables in /var/log/iptables.log and edit /etc/syslog.conf :

*.info;kern!=warning;mail.none;news.none;authpriv.none;cron.none /var/log/message

# Add new location

kern.warning /var/log/iptables.log

But my Drop packets are not showing in iptables.log file.Please let me know if i am doing wrong and let me know the correct way to write.I only want samba communication and SSH nothing else.

Thank You

Vaibhav

Last edited by Vaibhav.T; 03-26-2013 at 08:06 PM..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

SED inserting iptables rules in while loop