Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Output mean and standard deviation of a row Post 302785817 by PikK45 on Tuesday 26th of March 2013 12:00:58 PM
Old 03-26-2013
I just wanted to use NF so that we can use the same logic to many columns Smilie

And, your awk codes work perfect Smilie Started learning from you Smilie

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Script for finding standard deviation

I have a CSV file that looks like 0,0,0,0,1,0,1,0,1,0,0,0,0,0,0,1,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,2,0,0,0,0,0,0 10,11,7,0,4,12,2,3,7,0,11,3,12,4,0,5,5,4,5,0,8,6,12,0,9,3,3,0,2,7,8 19,11,7,0,4,14,16,10,8,2,13,7,15,6,0,76,6,4,10,0,18,10,17,1,11,3,3,0,9,9,8... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: RJ17
7 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Mean and Standard deviation

Hi all, I am new to shell scripting and wanna calculate the mean and standard deviation using shell programming. I have a file with letters that are repeating and their corresponding duration a 0.32 a 0.89 aa 0.34 aa 0.23 au 0.012 au 0.26... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: lakshmikanth.pg
4 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Calculating the Standard Deviation for a column

Hi all, I want to calculate the standard deviation for a column (happens to be column 3). Does any know of simple awk script to do this? Thanks (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: kylle345
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

using awk to print average and standard deviation into a file

Hi I want to use awk to print avg and st deviation but it does not go into a file for column 1 only. I can do average and # of records but i cannot get st deviation. awk '{sum+=$1} END { print "Average = ",sum/NR}' thanks (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: phil_heath
1 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Standard deviation in awk