Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Postfix Configuration:Hostname/Domain Name Doubts Post 302785381 by RedSpyder on Monday 25th of March 2013 01:22:12 PM
Old 03-25-2013
Error Postfix Configuration:Hostname/Domain Name Doubts

I have a RHEL server where I want to create a mail server so I can send myself alerts whenever X process have problems.

Disclaimer:
Im a programmer thats been forced to do IT. So I'm trying my best here.

The problem:
While configuring Postfix it asks for $myhostname which apparently must be in the format hostname.mydomain.com. I do have my $hostname but I dont know the "mydomain" part.

Do "mydomain" is something I create or its something I should get my the networks admins since the server is connected to my company's network?

If you need output from specific commands let me know.

/etc/sysconfig/network and /etc/hosts:
Code:
[root@isvahlrtk01 postfix]# cat /etc/sysconfig/network
NETWORKING=yes
HOSTNAME=isvahlrtk01
GATEWAY=XX.XX.XX.XX
[root@isvahlrtk01 postfix]# cat /etc/hosts
127.0.0.1   localhost localhost.localdomain localhost4 localhost4.localdomain4 isvahlrtk01
::1 localhost localhost.localdomain localhost4 localhost4.localdomain4
XX.XX.XX.XX isvahlrtk01

Thanks in advance!

Last edited by RedSpyder; 03-25-2013 at 03:10 PM..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Red Hat

qmail configuration in redhat linux - doubts

hi, How to Install & configure the qmail in redhat linux? and also how to get the free qmail package? I know the sendmail configuration in redhat linux. What is the features of qmail compared with sendmail? Regards, Jones (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: jones_linux
3 Replies

2. Solaris

List of Hostname under NIS Domain

How do I find a list of hosts under a domainname on a NIS+ I did check nisls command , I could not find any ??? (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: sriram003
5 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

My domain name as my IRC hostname?