Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Help on creating and saving an alias Post 302780623 by mar85 on Thursday 14th of March 2013 07:20:54 PM
Old 03-14-2013
Thanks RudiC for the reply. I'm a newbie in linux so pardon me if I don't provide enough info. Not sure which shell I'm running but I've run the command:
Code:
echo $shell

And here's the output:
/usr/.../pkgs/tcsh/6.13.00/bin/tcsh

Regarding the above alias error, what can I do to fix it and get it running?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. IP Networking

ifconfig: difference between creating logical or alias network interface

Hi guys, I have set up multiple virtual FTP servers on a server through one physical NIC. I believe there are to ways; setting logical or alias ip's. I would like to know what is the difference between setting up a logical ip or setting up an alias ip to a physical network interface? Some links to... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: zaff
5 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Creating alias for directory path

I am trying to create an alias for a frequently used directory path by using alias xyz="/proj/dir_name" and then trying to reach a sub-directoy by using cd xyz/abc but I get an error saying " No such file or directory " plz tell me wats wrong with this ... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: jasjot31
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

help needed with creating challenging bash script with creating directories

Hi, Can someone help me with creating a bash shell script. I need to create a script that gets a positive number n as an argument. The script must create n directories in the current directory with names like map_1, map_2 etcetera. Each directory must be contained within its predecessor. So... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: I-1
7 Replies

4. Red Hat

Live-cd Saving changes