Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Help with malloc()
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Help with malloc() Post 302775571 by shamrock on Tuesday 5th of March 2013 05:39:41 AM
Old 03-05-2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by eracav
Good day! I'm a newbie in C. I'm trying to get an unlimited input from the user using malloc then printing the inputs after the user presses enter. My code works, but there's a warning that I don't know how to fix. Please help me. Thank you.

Here's my code:
Code:

#include <stdio.h>
#include <string.h>
#include <stdlib.h>

int main () {

char* pointer = malloc(sizeof(char*));
    fgets(pointer, malloc(sizeof(char*)), stdin);
    puts(pointer);

return 0;

}

I get the warning: passing of argument 2 of 'fgets' makes integer from pointer without a cast

What does that mean? Thank you very much
Because the second argument of fgets is an integer while malloc returns pointer to void so take it out...
This User Gave Thanks to shamrock For This Post:

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Programming

a problem about malloc()

1 . Thanks everyone who read the post. 2 . the programe is that : #include <stdio.h> #include <string.h> void do_it(char *p) { p = (char *) malloc(100); (void )strcpy(p,"1234"); } int main(void) { char *p; do_it(p); (void )printf("p = %s \n",p); (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: chenhao_no1
1 Replies

2. Programming

malloc

hello sir since by mentioning a integer pointer and storing the integers by incrementing the pointer value then what is the purpose of malloc? u can decalre it as in t *p; several integers can be stored by incrementing the value of p, hence what is the diffrence between this... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: rajashekaran
2 Replies

3. Programming

When to use Malloc?