Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting How to check the user input to be valid using shell script? Post 302774465 by hyeewang on Saturday 2nd of March 2013 12:35:48 AM
Old 03-02-2013
Thank you 2.
I got your idea although I can not run your code due to compile error.
Is there any convenient command to convert or substitute "rwxr-xr-x" to be "111101101"?
That means "change "r","w","x" to be "1", "-" to be "0".
After that, I want to change binary to octal format by "bc"? Is it a good method by "bc"?
I am a beginner. thanks for help.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to check for a valid numeric input

Hi Folks, I'm using bash script. I would like to check whether input is a number or not.(Only positive numbers).. if space or non numeric is entered, it should say "invalid input". pls help.. thanks in adv. Br/// Vijay. (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Vijayakumarpc
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

SQL PLUS Command 'ACCEPT' is not waiting for user input with sh shell script

Dear All, The sqlplus 'Accept' command is not waiting for user input when I include the command within a shell script. Note: The 'Accept' command is working fine if I execute it in a SQLPLUS Prompt. Please fins the below sample script which i tried. SCRIPT: -------- #!... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: little_wonder
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

User Input Shell Script

Hello I am trying to create a user input shell scipt. The objective is user should enter the circuit number and the input is saved in a log file. If the user does not enter anything then the question should prompt it until the circuit no. is entered. Can any one please correct the code below.... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: sureshcisco
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

shell script to take input from a text file and perform check on each servers and copy files