Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Need a script to convert comma delimited files to semi colon delimited Post 302769988 by CarpKing on Thursday 14th of February 2013 05:26:33 AM
Old 02-14-2013
Need a script to convert comma delimited files to semi colon delimited

Hi All,

I need a unix script to convert .csv files to .skv files (changing a comma delimited file to a semi colon delimited file). I am a unix newbie and so don't know where to start. The script will be scheduled using cron and needs to convert each .csv file in a particular folder to a .skv equivalent and create a token in the folder to show completion as well as a log showing the number of files and records converted for auditing.

Sample data ... before conversion

Code:
27981,13,"0901"," ","B18975362",1,"C",17,"1"," "," "," "
24875,12,"0901"," ","B24578942",0,"F",17,"0"," "," "," "

Sample data ... after conversion

Code:
27981;13;0901;;B18975362;1;C;17;1;;;;^ 
24875;12;0901;;B24578942;0;F;17;0;;;;^

Please note that the number of columns in each file to be converted could be different, but that each .skv should have the same number of columns as the source .csv

example source & target folder: /test/conv

Any help would be most appreciated

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Converting Tab delimited file to Comma delimited file in Unix

Hi, Can anyone let me know on how to convert a Tab delimited file to Comma delimited file in Unix Thanks!! (22 Replies)
Discussion started by: charan81
22 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

how to convert this file into comma delimited format

Hi experts, I need urget help! I have the a text file with this format: Types of fruits Name of fruits 1,1 Farm_no,1 apple,1 pineapple,1 grapes,1 orange,1 banana,1 2,2--->this is the record seperator Farm_no,2 apple,1 pineapple,1 grapes,3 orange,2 banana,1 3,3--->this is the... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: natalie23
1 Replies