Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Rename scripts using xargs/sed Post 302769437 by alister on Tuesday 12th of February 2013 08:45:22 AM
Old 02-12-2013
You can just read the filenames from your file using a while-read loop. Within that loop, use cp. To generate the destination filename, you can use sed or the shell's parameter expansion operators to strip leading directories, modify the filename (e.g. ${var//pattern/replacement}), and prepend the new directory.

Alternatively, you can use pax in copy mode, -rw, with the -s option to modify the filenames as they're copied to the destination.

Regards,
Alister

Last edited by alister; 02-12-2013 at 09:51 AM..
This User Gave Thanks to alister For This Post:

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Using sed (or similar) to rename variable headings

Hello, I'm rather new to the world of regular expressions and sed, though am excited by its possibilities. I have a particular task I'd like to achieve, and have googled the topic quite a bit. However, having found some codes that perform a task very similar to what I'd like to do, I can't for... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: redseventyseven
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Multiple rename part of scripts

i have about 30 scripts for example: test, test1,test2, test3, test4,..... inside every scripte is code like this: echo "input check OK" how to rename this line in multiple scripts in this: echo "input error!" (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: waso
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Rename file using sed command

Greetings, I am very new to the UNIX shell scripting and would like to learn. However, I am currently stuck on how to process the below sample : Filename : DOCabcdef24387987ab90d.xml Pattern "DOC"+any character using and +".xml" And i want to change the second part of that file (any... (20 Replies)
Discussion started by: fanny_tirtasari
20 Replies