Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Help in UNIX
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Help in UNIX Post 302767687 by Srivathsava on Thursday 7th of February 2013 08:26:11 AM
Old 02-07-2013
Help in UNIX

Hi friends,
I am new to UNIX. My issue is..... We are having a path like a/b/c/d/outfiles. The output files generated during execution of program are saved in this path(all output files will be with extension '.out' like output1.out). Is there any UNIX command to jump directly to the path *outfiles*? And is there any command to find the path of the file output1.out directly without searching for that path and downloading the file?
I am trying to use the command find . -name output1.out. ( It will search all the files in current directory and the sub directory). But if I am in a/b directory and searching for that file with that command and if any sub folders of b,c or d doesn't have read permissions, its stopped searching there.
Please help me.
Srivathsava

8 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

UNIX problem? Unix programm runs windows 2000 CPU over 100%

Okee problems...!! What is happening: Unix server with some programms, workstations are windows 2000, the workstations work good but when you start a programm on the Unix server the CPU of the workstations go to 100% usage resulting that the system gets very slow. The programm well its running so... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: zerocool
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Unix History Question: Why are filenames/dirnames case sentsitive in Unix?

I tried looking for the answer online and came up with only a few semi-answers as to why file and directory names are case sensitive in Unix. Right off the bat, I'll say this doesn't bother me. But I run into tons of Windows and OpenVMS admins in my day job who go batty when they have to deal... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: deckard
3 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users