Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Adding variables to repeating strings Post 302764647 by verse123 on Thursday 31st of January 2013 05:49:04 PM
Old 01-31-2013
sorry im new to this,

so this file has 21,092 lines and around line 5427 this script begins to skip some repeats and doesn't assign a letter. Towards the very bottom of the file there are hardly any repeats being assigned letters. Is there a size limitation to this?

---------- Post updated at 05:49 PM ---------- Previous update was at 05:39 PM ----------

I also noticed that in some cases it jumps letters like in the sample below

Code:
DOG000160 a
DOG000160 b
DOG000161 e
DOG000161 f
DOG000162 b

it's calling DOG000161 "e" instead of "a". And DOG000162 "b" is really supposed to be "a". Why do you suppose this is?

Last edited by Scrutinizer; 01-31-2013 at 07:48 PM.. Reason: quote tags to code tags

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Repeating variables in the code

Hi all, I had written 3 KSH scripts for different functionalities. In all these 3 files there are some 30 variables in common. So I want to reduce the code by placing these variables in a common properties file named (dataload.prop/dataload.parms/dataload.txt) or txt file and access it... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: mahalakshmi
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

bash hell , removing " and adding from a strings

I'm writing a bash script and i'm stuck the out put of a dialog menu is echo $select "foo" "bar" "lemon" cheese" while I need $foo $bar $lemon $cheese to reuse them as strings later in the script and very new to bash scripting and i've no idea how to do this any help would be... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: xpd259
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Adding Strings to a file