Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Split the file and access that files through array and loop Post 302762887 by vbe on Tuesday 29th of January 2013 07:51:09 AM
Old 01-29-2013
Yes?
And what have you done so far?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Access value outside awk or split value of array

Hello I am new to Unix. Please help me out. My Scenario: I am first collecting all the file names present in the directory with structure myinfo/yourinfo/supplierinfo I have four files with the names myCollector.java, yourCollector.java, someCollector.java, everyCollector.java. in the directory.... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: jason.bean
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

split and making an array inside another array

I want to run an awk split on a value that has been pushed through an array and I was wondering what the syntax should be?? e.g. running time strings through an array and trying to examine just minutes: 12:25:30 10:15:13 08:55:23 awk ' NR==FNR{ ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: dcfargo
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to run a loop for assigning strings which are present in a file to an array

Hi Forum, I am struggling with the for loop in shell script. Let me explain what is needed in the script. I have a file which will conatin some strings like file1 place1 place2 place3 checkpoint some other text some more text Now what my requirement is the words ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: siri_14
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Not access variable outside loop when a reading a file

I am writing a shell script using the korn shell. It seems that I am only able to use local variables within a while loop that is reading a file. (I can't access a variable outside a previously used while loop.) It's been a while since I wrote shell scripts. Here is a sample cat file.txt... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: ricardo.ludwig