Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Concatenate 560 files in one
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Concatenate 560 files in one Post 302761789 by Scrutinizer on Sunday 27th of January 2013 02:27:37 AM
Old 01-27-2013
Just shell and cat:
Code:
{
  read filename
  cat "$filename"
  while read filename
  do
     {
       read                 # use "read; read" to skip two header lines
       cat
     } < "$filename"
  done
} < file_name.txt > concatenated_file

This User Gave Thanks to Scrutinizer For This Post:

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How to concatenate all files.

Hi, I'm totally new to Unix. I'm an MVS mainframer but ran into a situation where a Unix server I have available will help me. I want to be able to remotely connect to another server using FTP, login and MGET all files from it's root or home directory, logout, then login as a different user and do... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: s80bob
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

concatenate two files with different No of rows

need a shell which perform following function file 1 ( every time new data comes) 1212 2323 3434 4545 5656 . . . . file 2 (fixed line) update bc_tbl set aix=data , bix=back where cix=U and serial=; now when i execute shell it will concatinate file 1, file 2 & make file 3 as... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: The_Archer
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Concatenate files

I have directory structure sales_only under which i have multiple directories for each dealer example: ../../../Sales_Only/xxx_Dealer ../../../Sales_Only/yyy_Dealer ../../../Sales_Only/zzz_Dealer Every day i have one file produce under each directory when the process runs. The requirement... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: mohanmuthu
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Concatenate files