Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Crontab Job Output File
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Crontab Job Output File Post 302752507 by famasutika on Monday 7th of January 2013 05:13:40 AM
Old 01-07-2013
Crontab Job Output File

I am a newbie to Unix.

My default root user umask is set to 077 and I have the following crontab job to redirect al the backup output to the logfile of /backup/backup.xxxxx
Code:
00 10 * * 0 /usr/local/bin/backup.sh > /backup/backup.`date +\%Y\%m\%d` 2>&1

Since root default umask is 077, the backup logfile of /backup/backup.xxxx is only readable to root itself. But I want to allow non-root or normal account to be able to read the backup logfile. Is there a way to achieve this in the crontab syntax itself?

Last edited by Franklin52; 01-08-2013 at 03:45 AM.. Reason: Please use code tags for data and code samples

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

crontab job

Hi, I have cornjob was scheduled at 1:00 AM everyday. It has been running fine since last Saturday. But it didn't run since Saturday. Because of daytime saving time change it didn't ran? Please send me your thoughts. Thanks in adavance. Moe (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Moe
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help with a crontab job!!!

Hi, i need to schedule a script to run at 6.10AM everyday.I tried to do this way. #!bin/ksh 10 06 * * 0-6 sh /tmp/ss/script/daily_file_check.sh And at the command prompt I did >crontab -e cron.txt I'm not sure whether this is the right way. Can anyone please tell me how to... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: kumarsaravana_s
4 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Crontab keeps saving empty files of the job file.