Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Sourcing as root automatically Post 302752025 by RudiC on Saturday 5th of January 2013 09:29:04 AM
Old 01-05-2013
su - does source the profile as it does a login. But, as you su to another user, it sources that user's profile, so make sure aaa is in root's profile and it will fly.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

arguments in sourcing file

Hello ! I want to make a script like that. #!/bin/csh -f setenv toto me setenv titi you setenv tata $1 in which tata is visible outside the script, after sourcing this script. It seems that you can only do source script and not source script arg How can I do that ? ... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Nathe
4 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

sourcing the .bashrc

Hello, I am quite new to Linux... I need to set some aliases and I can't get it to work. Can somebody tell me what's wrong? I modified the .bashrc file in my home directory. I added: alias pmv= '/home/vera/MGLTools-1.4.5/share/bin/pmv' saved it and ran source .bashrc The shell... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Nusy
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Change root password automatically

I need to change root password automatically in some servers all three months. I want to run this process in one of the servers and reply it to the others. The password must be known by the administrator. (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Alrica
3 Replies

4. Solaris

rootsh on Solaris 10 is not sourcing root's .profile

I'm attempting to setup rootsh on Solaris 10 to log the activity of users who require root access. However it does not appear to be sourcing root's .profile file even when run with the '-i' option. I was wondering if anybody else has run into this and might have a solution. Thank you. (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: kungfusnwbrdr
9 Replies

5. Solaris

Root file system automatically reduced from 90 to 40%