Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers awk for concatenation of column values Post 302749113 by RudiC on Thursday 27th of December 2012 01:47:09 PM
Old 12-27-2012
Try:
Code:
$ awk '$4=$4=="A"?$3$3:$2$3' OFS="\t" file

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

averaging column values with awk

Hello. Im just starting to learn awk so hang in there with me...I have a large text file formatted as such everything is in a single column ID001 value 1 value 2 value....n ID002 value 1 value 2 value... n I want to be able to calculate the average for values for each ID from the... (18 Replies)
Discussion started by: johnmillsbro
18 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to pick values from column based on key values by usin AWK

Dear Guyz:) I have 2 different input files like this. I would like to pick the values or letters from the inputfile2 based on inputfile1 keys (A,F,N,X,Z). I have done similar task by using awk but in that case the inputfiles are similar like in inputfile2 (all keys in 1st column and values in... (16 Replies)
Discussion started by: repinementer
16 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

problem while adding column values in awk

Hi, I have a file "input.txt" with the following content : 5312,0,,,1,8,141.2,20090727 3714,0,,,1,8,285.87,20090727 5426,0,,,1,8,3.9,20090727 3871,0,,,1,8,30.4,20090727 9071,0,,,1,8,146.2,20090727 5141,0,,,1,8,2.8,20090727 0460,0,,,1,8,-0.1,20090727 7918,0,,,1,8,-0.1,20090727... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: valokv
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

for each different entry in column 1 extract maximum values from column 2 in unix/awk

Hello, I have 2 columns (1st column has multiple entries but the corresponding values in the column 2 may be the same or different.) however I want to extract unique values for each entry in column 1 by assigning the max value from column 2 SDF4 -0.211654 SDF4 0.978068 ... (1 Reply)