Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Single UNIX command to display users and to count them Post 302739373 by sreyan32 on Tuesday 4th of December 2012 06:17:57 AM
Old 12-04-2012
Question Single UNIX command to display users and to count them

Hello everyone,
I am new to Unix and I am stuck with a problem. I need only a single command to display the output of who and then add the total number of users and display at the bottom of that output.
Example-: (Expected output)
sreyan@debian:~$ <command>
sreyan tty7 2012-12-04 05:50 (:0)
sreyan pts/0 2012-12-04 05:51 (:0.0)

By the way I am using Debian 6.0.5 (64-bit). Thank You.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to use more than one MPE command STREAM with Unix command in a single shell?

Hello, I have problem in writing the shell script involving MPE command STREAM related to HP-UX and Unix command. Script is sh "nlshCMD 'STREAM <job name1>' | 'SHOWJOB' | grep $HPJOBNUM" sh "nlshCMD 'STREAM <job name2>' | 'SHOWJOB' | grep $HPJOBNUM" sh "nlshCMD 'STREAM <job name3>' |... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: bosskr
0 Replies

2. HP-UX

How to use more than one MPE command STREAM with Unix command in a single shell?

Hello, I have problem in writing the shell script involving MPE command STREAM related to HP-UX and Unix command. Script is sh "nlshCMD 'STREAM <job name1>' | 'SHOWJOB' | grep $HPJOBNUM" sh "nlshCMD 'STREAM <job name2>' | 'SHOWJOB' | grep $HPJOBNUM" sh "nlshCMD 'STREAM <job name3>' |... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: bosskr
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

run command Unix on a single line

Hi everybody.. I need to enter in bash mode and then run a command and this just in a single command line. I tried : "bash ^M| somecommand" but nothing.. How do I do to simulate the return button just right after the bash command ? Thanks.. (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: Riddick61
8 Replies