Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Variable not an identifier when script is run as another user Post 302737651 by newbie2010 on Thursday 29th of November 2012 11:20:18 AM
Old 11-29-2012
Variable not an identifier when script is run as another user

I am new to scripting

I keep getting the error var2= is not an identifier when I run this script as another user. BUT when I run it as myself, the script completes without error. Any idea why? I assume it is because the new user has a different environment . How do I make the variables active for this new user? I don't have setenv and I've already exported them. As I said, the script works fine until i run it after logging in and running su - newuser to change to the newuser. I wish I could fix this so the newuser could also run the script.

Code:
echo "enter filername" 
read filername 
echo "enter days ago" 
read daysago 
command=`/px/finderquery -client=$filername -days=$daysago`; 
export var2=`echo $command`; 
if [[ `echo $var2 |grep show` ]]; 
then 
     echo "filer does not exist"; 
else 
     echo "you have the right name";
fi; 
export new2=`echo $var2 |gawk '{print $31}'`

Any ideas would be helpful to a newbie, thanks!

Last edited by vbe; 11-29-2012 at 12:26 PM.. Reason: You insert your code in between the code tags! I revamped you code for reading...

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

run a script with another user id

Hi, I have a script A.run which will call B.run. How can i run B.run with a common id instead of using my login id? I have tried as below, in Script A.run : ......... echo "Running B.run......" rsh -l commonid hostname B.run ......... but it's give me "Permission Denied"....... ... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: wan
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Have script run as a different user