Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting search information in multiple files and save in new files Post 302720145 by bartus11 on Tuesday 23rd of October 2012 01:44:31 PM
Old 10-23-2012
Code:
awk 'BEGIN{RS="LOCUS"}/Equinodermata/{print "LOCUS"$0}' *.gbk >> new_file

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Multiple search string in multiple files using awk

Hi, filenames: contains name of list of files to search in. placelist contains the names of places to be searched in all files in "filenames" for i in $(<filenames) do egrep -f placelist $i if ] then echo $i fi done >> outputfile Output i am getting: (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: pinnacle
0 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Merging information from multiple files to a single file

Hello, I am new to unix and need help with a problem. I have 2 files each containing multiple columns of information ie; File 1 : A B C D E 1 2 3 4 5 File 2 : F G 6 7 I would like to merge the information from File 2 to File 1 so that the data reads as follows; File 1: A... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: crunchie
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Search multiple patterns in multiple files

Hi, I have to write one script that has to search a list of numbers in certain zipped files. For eg. one file file1.txt contains the numbers. File1.txt contains 5,00,000 numbers and I have to search each number in zipped files(The number of zipped files are around 1000 each file is 5 MB) I have... (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: vsachan
10 Replies

4. Solaris

How to search for a word in multiple files

Hi, I want to find for a particular word which is existing in different files and folders under the parent directory. What command can I use to retrieve all the file names which is having the word. (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: rogerben
1 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

extracting information from multiple files